UNM DEPARTMENT OF ANTHROPOLOGY

ORGANIZATIONAL MANUAL

2018-2019

Chair: Les Field

Associate Chair: Keith Hunley

Regular (Full Voting) Faculty:

Professors: Boone, Crown, Field, Graves, Long, Prufer, Sinopoli, Wills **Associate Professors:** Dinwoodie, Edgar, Emery Thompson, Hayashida, Huckell, Hunley, Jones, Muller, Nelson, Oakdale, Pearson, Traxler **Assistant Professors:** Mattison, Mattson

Part-time Faculty (With or Without Voting Rights):

Faculty Associate: Research Associate Professors: Phillips (until October 1), Dello Russo Faculty Associate: Research Assistant Professor: Bass, McChesney, Stieglitz

Subfields and Voting Faculty:

The Department is divided into three subfields: archaeology, ethnology, and evolutionary anthropology. Probationary faculty are hired with respect to one of the subfields but may affiliate with more than one. The subfields review matters pertaining to their curricula and teaching schedule, faculty members and associates, degree programs, and other initiatives. Tenured and tenure track faculty are eligible to vote on subfield matters.

Archaeology: Boone (Undergraduate Advisor), Graves, Hayashida, Huckell (Graduate Advisor/Archaeology), Jones (Graduate Advisor/Public Archaeology), Mattson, Phillips, Prufer (Convener), Sinopoli, Traxler

Ethnology: DeHaas (Term Teacher and Undergraduate Advisor), Dinwoodie (Graduate Advisor), Field, Oakdale (Convener), Rhodes (Visiting Lecturer III)

Evolutionary Anthropology: Edgar, Emery Thompson, Hunley (Undergraduate Director), Long, Mattison, Muller (Graduate Director), Nelson (Convener), Pearson

<u>Staff:</u>

Jennifer George, Department Administrator/Building Coordinator Matthew Tuttle, Coordinator, Program Advisement/Graduate Advisor/Policy Database Manager Cathy Osborn, Coordinator of Education Support JoNella Vasquez, Accountant Alisha Barber, Administrative Assistant Manuel Ainza, Student Program Advisor (Undergraduate Advisement)

Post Doctoral Fellows

Darragh Hare-Evolutionary Anthropology

Nicole Thompson-Evolutionary Anthropology Klinton Burgio-Ericson-Museum Studies

Working Retirees:

Jane Lancaster-Evolutionary Anthropology; Human Nature Editor Lawrence Straus-Archaeology; JAR Editor

Emeritus Faculty in Residence:

Louise Lamphere-Ethnology Karl Schwerin-Ethnology

Maxwell Museum of Anthropology:

Dave Phillips (until October 1)/Carla Sinopoli (after October 1) Museum Director; Robert Dello Russo, Director of Office of Contract Archaeology; Lea McChesney, Curator of Ethnology; Loa Traxler, Director of Museum Studies Program; Wirt Wills, Curator of Archaeology

Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies:

Lea McChesney, Director

<u>Advisory Group</u>: Field (Chair), Prufer (Archaeology Convener), Oakdale (Ethnology Convener), Nelson (Evolutionary Anthropology Convener), Muller (Graduate Director), Hunley (Undergraduate Director/Associate Chair)

- The Chair and Conveners meet periodically with the Chair to discuss and advise about specific matters of departmental concern and/or to vote on special faculty awards. Advisory Group matters are kept confidential or reported electronically or during faculty meeting at the Chair's discretion.
- The Advisory Group will also coordinate matters pertaining to our Academic Program Review (APR)

<u>Colloquium Committee</u>, Mattison, Mattson, Daniel Shattuck (Public Policy Fellow) meets as necessary and works with Osborn on scheduling colloquia.

Graduate Committee: Muller (Director), Dinwoodie, Huckell, Jones, Tuttle, George

Committee (3 subfield representation + Public Archaeology representation) meets throughout the semester about the graduate program and/or to vote on special Graduate Student awards. Members report to their subfield on these meetings. Graduate Director reports the substance of the committee deliberations to the Department Chair. Tuttle enters committee policy decisions in the Department Policy Database. Graduate Committee is responsible for organizing the assessment of graduate programs in Anthropology.

<u>Subfield Conveners:</u> Prufer (Archaeology), Oakdale (Ethnology), Nelson (Evolutionary Anthropology)

Subfield Conveners organize meetings of their respective subfields to determine teaching schedule for regular and part time instructors (Fall, Spring, Summer, Intersession, On-line, UNM West), to review graduate student annually, to rank their graduate students for TA and GA positions, awards, and other funding as they become available. Subfields must also meet to review and revise courses and curricula for concentrations at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Subfields also determine their faculty recruitment priorities, and participate in subfield planning, resource and space allocations, teaching collections, and other matters pertinent to the subfield.

Undergraduate Committee: Hunley (Director), DeHaas, Boone, George

Committee (3 Subfield Representation) meets throughout the semester about the undergraduate program. Members report to their subfields on these meetings and present major curriculum changes to the committee. Undergraduate Director reports the substance of the committee deliberations to the Department Chair. Undergraduate Director reports policy decisions to Tuttle for Department Policy Database. Undergraduate Committee is responsible for organizing the assessment of undergraduate GE courses in Anthropology and the undergraduate majors in Anthropology

Joint Standing Committees:

Board of Archaeologists: Boone, Crown, Edgar, Graves, Hayashida, Huckell, Jones, Phillips, Prufer, Traxler, Wills

Review Committees:

The Department establishes review committees for each new probationary tenure track faculty hires. These committees conduct annual reviews, the mid-probationary review, and serve as the promotion and tenure committee. Annual reviews are conducted for all non-tenure track faculty in Anthropology who wish to remain associated with the Department. These include research associates, post-doctoral associates, adjunct faculty and other courtesy appointments.

Promotion Review (to Full Professor), Hayashida: Graves (Chair), Prufer, Long

Annual Review, Mattison: Muller (Chair), Crown, Hunley; Mentor: Edgar

Annual Review, Mattson: Traxler (Chair), Pearson, Boone, Mentor: Sinopoli

Continuing Non Tenure Track Faculty Review Committee: Hunley (Chair), Oakdale, Hayashida

Hiring Committees:

Ethnology Assistant Professor: Dinwoodie (Chair), Oakdale, Nelson, Sanabria (History), Werito (Language, Literacy, Sociocultural Studies)

Evolutionary Anthropology Assistant Professor: Muller (Chair), Emery Thompson, Mattison, Hayashida, Del Giudice (Psychology)

Faculty Senate Representative: Jeff Long (term ends Spring 2019)

Student Organizations:

Anthropology Graduate Student Association (AGSU):

President: Adam Reynolds

Vice President: Sara Niedbalski Treasurer: Asia Alsgaard Conference Coordinator: Paige Lynch Ethnology subfield rep: Emily Guerra UAS rep: Genevieve Woodhead GPSA rep: Hope Casareno

Undergraduate Anthropology Society (UAS):

Co-President: Samantha Ascoli Co-President: Miranda LaZar Senior Vice President: Devan Eaton Junior Vice President: Aurelia Dixon Secretary: Kathryn Sokolowski