UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT OF ANTHROPOLOGY Professorship Awards

These procedures guide awards selected solely by the department for its own faculty. They do NOT refer to wider university awards and usually have no monetary or obligatory component. Rather they are represent recognition of outstanding academic achievement by fellow members of the Department of Anthropology. The following procedure is used to determine award recipients:

- 1) Senior faculty (full professors) will vote using an anonymous ballot
- 2) The votes will be tallied by a neutral party and the department will nominate the individual receiving the majority of votes
- 3) The results will be submitted to the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences for approval.
- 4) If a named professorship like the Leslie Spier Professorship, the award will last the active tenure of the honoree as a member of the Department of Anthropology and cease when the honoree retires or leaves the department.

Note: In the case of the Leslie Spier Professorship, to be eligible faculty members must have been already appointed Distinguished Professor according to the university procedures set forth in the faculty handbook.