UNM DEPARTMENT OF ANTHROPOLOGY ORGANIZATIONAL MANUAL AY 2024-2025

- 1. Chair: Sherry Nelson
- 2. Associate Chair: Melissa Emery Thompson
- 3. Tenure-Track Faculty with Voting Rights:
 - 3.1. *Professors*: Edgar, Emery Thompson, Field, Graves, Hunley, Hayashida, Jones (on leave), Muller, Oakdale, Pearson, Prufer, Sinopoli
 - 3.2. Associate Professors: Dinwoodie, Mattison, Nelson, Traxler
 - 3.3. Assistant Professors: Mattson, Rhodes (on leave), Schleher, Shapero, Wallace
- 4. Part-Time Faculty:
 - 4.1. Term Teachers: NA
 - 4.2. Part Time Instructor: Gross, Moes, Rautman
 - 4.3. Faculty Associates

Adjunct Research Professor: Greaves

Adjunct Research Assistant Professors: McChesney, Schmader

Research Assistant Professor: Bass

Secondary Appointments: Brulotte, Salvador, Jacobsen, Newsome, O'Donnell, Peele-

Eady, Trujillo

4.4. **Postdoctoral Fellows**: Kamnikar

- 5. Subfields:
 - Archaeology: Graves, Hayashida, Jones (on leave), Mattson, Prufer (convener), Schleher, Sinopoli, Traxler
 - 5.2. *Sociocultural and Linguistic Anthropology:* Dinwoodie, Field, Oakdale (convener), Rhodes (on leave), Shapero
 - 5.3. *Evolutionary Anthropology:* Edgar, Emery Thompson, Hunley, Mattison, Muller, Nelson, Pearson, Wallace (convener)
- 6. Department Staff:
 - 6.1 **Department Administrator**: George
 - 6.2 **Department Accountant:** Vasquez
 - 6.3 **Senior Academic Advisor (Graduate):** Talley
 - 6.4 **Coordinator of Education Support**: Sarracino
 - 6.5 Student Program Advisor, Undergraduate: Agnew
 - 6.6 Administrative Assistant 1: Le
- 7. Standing Committees:
 - 7.1. **Advisory Group:** TBD
 - 7.2. **Awards committee**: Edgar, Field, Prufer
 - 7.3. Colloquium Committee: Wallace (chair), Field, Pearson, Di Fonzo, George
 - 7.4. Graduate Committee: Field (Director), Muller, Pearson, Mattson (public arc), Talley
 - 7.5. Undergraduate Committee: Graves (Director), Shapero, Edgar

- 7.6. *Hibben Trust Meeting Committee:* Nelson (Department Chair), Field (Graduate Committee Director), Sinopoli (Maxwell director), Traxler (Museum Studies director), George (Department Administrator)
- 7.7. Workload Policy Committee. Emery Thompson, Field, Nelson, Prufer
- 8. Subfield Conveners: Prufer, Oakdale, Wallace
- 9. Retention, Promotion and Tenure Committees:
 - 9.1. *Tenure and Promotion Review, Rhodes:* Dinwoodie (Chair), Hayashida (teaching), Field (service), Katherine Peck (graduate student member)
 - 9.2. *Tenure and Promotion Review, Mattson:* Traxler (Chair), Pearson (teaching), Prufer (service), Martin Pfeiffer (graduate student member)
- 10. Annual Review Committees:
 - 10.1. Annual Review, Wallace: Emery Thompson (Chair), Graves, TBD
 - 10.2. Annual Review, Shapero: Field (Chair), Edgar, Dinwoodie
 - 10.3. Annual Review, Schleher: Jones (Chair), Muller (teaching), Traxler
- 11. Salary Review Committee: TBD
- 12. Research semester.
- 13. Faculty Mentors:
 - 13.1. *Mattson*. Sinopoli
 - 13.2. Rhodes. Field, Sinopoli, Stanley
 - 13.3. *Schleher*. Edgar, Hayashida, McChesney
 - 13.4. Shapero. Oakdale
 - 13.5. Wallace. Muller, Jones, Hitchcock
- 14. Joint standing committees with OCA:
 - 14.1. **Board of Archaeologists**: Archaeology faculty, director and associate directors of the Office of Contract Archeology, director and archaeological curators of the Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
- 15. Hiring Committees:
 - 15.1. NA (TBD if hire approved)
- 16. Faculty Senate Representative:

Pearson

17. Working Retirees:

NA

18. Emeritus Faculty in Residence:

Boone, Crown, Lamphere, Schwerin, Straus, Wills

- 19. Affiliated Organizations:
 - 19.1. Center for Stable Isotopes (CSI). Prufer
 - 19.2. *Comparative Human and Primate Physiology Center.* Emery-Thompson, Muller, Nelson, Wallace
 - 19.3. *Maxwell Museum of Anthropology*: Sinopoli (Director), McChesney (Curator of Ethnology); Schleher (Curator of Archaeology); Gentilli (Curator of Exhibits); Carillo (Curator of Public Programs); Davis (Curator of Education)

- 19.4. Office of Contract Archaeology: Greaves (Director)
- 19.5. Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies: Graves (Director), Di Fonzo (Public Policy Fellow)
- 19.6. Museum Studies Program: Traxler (Director), Carpenter
- 19.7. Journal of Anthropological Research: Oakdale (Editor)
- 19.8. Clark Field Archive and Library: George (Director)
- 19.9. Latin American and Iberian Institute (LAII): Hayashida (Director)

20. Student Organizations:

20.1. Anthropology Graduate Student Association (AGSU) aka Anthropology Club

Officers: Hope Casareno and Christina Lorenzatto (co-presidents); Faculty advisor: Field

20.2. Undergraduate Anthropology Society

Officers: Eva Marques and Ella Thomas (co-presidents), Sandro Espinosa y Mann (vice president), Perri Allan and Isabella O'Donnell-Silfverberg (co-treasurers), Kayla McPherson (secretary), Andrew Witty (Archaeology rep), Sandro Spinosa y Mann (SCALA rep), Savannah Gallegos (Human Bio/Evolutionary Subfield Rep), Eva Marques (Museum Studies Rep); Advisor: George