Skip to main content

Anthropology Graduate Student Union


The Anthropology Graduate Student Union (AGSU) is an officially recognized, chartered organization composed of anthropology graduate students at the University of New Mexico. We provide representatives to the Graduate and Professional Student Association (GPSA) council and liaise with the department faculty and Chair to advocate the needs and interests of anthropology graduate students. We also seek to provide professional development experience by organizing an annual research conference and skills workshops.

Some things we do/sponsor/support:

  • Annual New Student Orientation Pot Luck (with Anthropology Department

  • Navajo Rug Auction (with Maxwell Museum of Anthropology)

  • Student Orientation Trip

  • AGSU Annual Conference in Anthropology

  • Weekly Brownbag Lecture Series

  • Fall/Spring Welcome Back parties

  • Faculty/Student/Subfield/UAS mixers

  • Undergraduate Anthropology Society (UAS) Mentoring Program

AGSU Officers 2017-2018

Position

Name

Subfield

Email

President

Asia Alsgaard

Archaeology

alsgaard@unm.edu

Vice-President

Victoria Bowler

Archaeology

 vbowler@unm.edu

Secretary

Katherine Brewer

Archaeology

slbrewer@unm.edu

Treasurer

Shelby Magee

 Archaeology

 magees@unm.edu

Conference Coordinator

Cassie Smith

Ethnology

casita31@unm.edu

GPSA Representatives

Sarah Leiter
Genevieve Woodhead
Drew Enigk

Ethnology

Archaeology

Evolutionary Anthropology

leiter@unm.edu  
gwoodhead@unm.edu
denigk@unm.edu

UAS Representative

Daniel Shattuck

Ethnology

 shattuck@unm.edu

Maxwell Museum Representative

Mark Williams

Archaeology

mwilli05@unm.edu

Annual AGSU Conference in Anthropology: Since 1996, the Anthropology Graduate Student Union has sponsored an annual research symposium held each spring. The purpose of the symposium is to highlight the research of undergraduate and graduate students in anthropology at the University of New Mexico. The symposium features the Frieda Butler Award lecture, the Ruth E. Kennedy Award lecture, and in alternate years, the New Mexico Folklore Award Lecture, as well as special guest speakers and various other events.

Visit the AGSU website