Skip to main content

Emeriti Faculty

Anita L Alvarado

Associate Professor
University of Arizona, PhD, 1974

Richard A Barrett

Associate Professor
University of Michigan, PhD, 1970

Garth L Bawden

Professor; Chair, Department of Anthropology (2005-2006)
Director, Maxwell Museum of Anthropology (1988-2005)
Harvard University, PhD, 1977

Email: 
gbawden@unm.edu

Philip Bock

Presidential Professor
Harvard University, PhD, 1962

Email: 
pbock@unm.edu

Richard C Chapman

Research Associate Professor
University of New Mexico, PhD, 1980

Email: 
chapman@unm.edu

E James Dixon

Professor
Director, Maxwell Museum of Anthropology (2007-2015)

Email: 
jdixon@unm.edu

Steven Feld

Distinguished Professor
Indiana University, PhD, 1979

Email: 
wafeki@cybermesa.com

Larry Gorbet

Associate Professor
University of California-San Diego, PhD, 1974

Email: 
lgorbet@unm.edu

Patrick F Hogan

Research Associate Professor
Washington State University, PhD, 1987

Email: 
phogan@unm.edu

Hillard Kaplan

Professor
University of Utah-Salt Lake City, PhD, 1983

Louise Lamphere

Distinguished Professor
Director, Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies
Harvard University, PhD, 1968

Email: 
lamphere@unm.edu

Jane Lancaster

Distinguished Professor
Editor, Human Nature
University of California-Berkeley, PhD, 1967

Email: 
jlancas@unm.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Carole Nagengast

Professor
Chair, Department of Anthropology (2002-2005)
University of California-Irvine, PhD, 1985

Email: 
cnagenga@unm.edu

Joseph F Powell

Associate Professor
Curator of Osteology
Texas A&M University, PhD, 1995

Ann F Ramenofsky

Associate Professor
University of Washington, PhD, 1982

Email: 
aramenof@unm.edu

J Stanley Rhine

Professor
Curator of Osteology and Research Professor, Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
University of Colorado, PhD, 1969

Email: 
srhine@unm.edu

Sylvia Rodriguez

Professor
Director, Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies
Stanford University, PhD, 1981

Email: 
sylrodri@unm.edu

Karl H Schwerin

Professor
Chair, Department of Anthropology (1987-1993)
University of California-Los Angeles, PhD, 1965

Email: 
schwerin@unm.edu

James M Sebring

Associate Professor
University of California-Berkeley, PhD, 1968

Beverly R Singer

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Native American Studies
Director, Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies
University of New Mexico, PhD, 1996

Email: 
mesa@unm.edu

David Stuart

Photo: David Stuart

Professor
Associate Provost Emeritus

Email: 
dstuart@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0896

Areas of Research:

Settlement patterns, ecological adaptations, energy and evolution, ethnoarchaeology of US Southwest; Modern Mexico/US Borderlands.

Marta Weigle

University Regents Professor
Chair, Department of Anthropology (1995-2002)
University of Pennsylvania, PhD, 1971

Email: 
mweigle@unm.edu