Skip to main content

Emeriti Faculty

Anita L Alvarado

Associate Professor
PhD, University of Arizona (1974)

Richard A Barrett

Associate Professor
PhD, University of Michigan (1970)

Garth L Bawden

Professor; Chair, Department of Anthropology (2005-2006)
Director, Maxwell Museum of Anthropology (1988-2005)
PhD, Harvard University (1977)

Email: 
gbawden@unm.edu

Philip Bock

Presidential Professor
PhD, Harvard University (1962)

Email: 
pbock@unm.edu

Richard C Chapman

Research Associate Professor
PhD, University of New Mexico (1980)

Email: 
chapman@unm.edu

E James Dixon

Professor
Director, Maxwell Museum of Anthropology (2007-2015)

Email: 
jdixon@unm.edu

Steven Feld

Distinguished Professor
PhD, Indiana University (1979)

Email: 
wafeki@cybermesa.com

Larry Gorbet

Associate Professor
PhD, University of California-San Diego (1974)

Email: 
lgorbet@unm.edu

Patrick F Hogan

Research Associate Professor
PhD, Washington State University (1987)

Email: 
phogan@unm.edu

Hillard Kaplan

Professor
PhD, University of Utah-Salt Lake City (1983)

Louise Lamphere

Distinguished Professor
Director, Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies
PhD, Harvard University (1968)

Email: 
lamphere@unm.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Jane Lancaster

Distinguished Professor
Editor, Human Nature
PhD, University of California-Berkeley (1967)

Email: 
jlancas@unm.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Carole Nagengast

Professor
Chair, Department of Anthropology (2002-2005)
PhD, University of California-Irvine (1985)

Email: 
cnagenga@unm.edu

Joseph F Powell

Associate Professor
Curator of Osteology
PhD, Texas A&M University (1995)

Ann F Ramenofsky

Associate Professor
PhD, University of Washington (1982)

Email: 
aramenof@unm.edu

J Stanley Rhine

Professor
Curator of Osteology and Research Professor, Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
PhD, University of Colorado (1969)

Email: 
srhine@unm.edu

Sylvia Rodriguez

Professor
Director, Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies
PhD, Stanford University (1981)

Email: 
sylrodri@unm.edu

Karl H Schwerin

Professor
Chair, Department of Anthropology (1987-1993)
PhD, University of California-Los Angeles (1965)

Email: 
schwerin@unm.edu

James M Sebring

Associate Professor
PhD, University of California-Berkeley (1968)

Beverly R Singer

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Native American Studies
Director, Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies
PhD, University of New Mexico (1996)

Email: 
mesa@unm.edu

David Stuart

Photo: David Stuart

Professor
Associate Provost Emeritus

Email: 
dstuart@unm.edu
Phone: 
505-277-0896

Areas of Research:

Settlement patterns, ecological adaptations, energy and evolution, ethnoarchaeology of US Southwest; Modern Mexico/US Borderlands.

Marta Weigle

University Regents Professor
Chair, Department of Anthropology (1995-2002)
PhD, University of Pennsylvania (1971)

Email: 
mweigle@unm.edu