Transnational Affective Networks, Relational Peace and Solidarity Practices


Start Date: Mar 12, 2021 - 10:00am

Location: Presented via Zoom

pilar.jpegMaría del Pilar File-Muriel (UNM) and Chelsey Dyer (Vanderbilt University) presented their talk Transnational Affective Networks, Relational Peace and Solidarity Practices  as part of the Spring 2021 Anthropology Colloquia Speaker Series on Friday, March 12 at 10 am. chelsey.jpg

In this talk María del Pilar File-Muriel (UNM) and Chelsey Dyer (Vanderbilt University) discuss their co-authored paper (in progress) and their ethnographic research on transnational affective networks, relational peace and solidarity practices between Buenaventura, Colombia and the US.

Both Chelsey and Pilar are activist anthropologists who have conducted fieldwork in Colombia and the US as part of the Witness for Peace Solidarity Collective. Through an examination of solidarity and peace practices woven locally in Colombia and transnationally between the US, they identify how affect, particularly love, undergirds understandings of social change.

Chelsey Dyer is a PhD candidate in the Department of Anthropology at Vanderbilt University and an anthropology instructor at North Carolina State University. 

María del Pilar File-Muriel is originally from Colombia. She is PhD candidate in the Department of Anthropology at UNM and the Ortiz Fellow 2020-2021. She also holds an Interdepartmental Fellowship with the Department of Spanish and Portuguese where she has taught language and upper-level topics classes.

Hosted by the Department of Anthropology, the Alfonso Ortiz Center for Intercultural Studies, and the Latin American and Iberian Institute (LAII) the Department Colloquia Speaker Series will be held virtually via Zoom on Fridays at 10 am, and will be made available on our You Tube account following the event.  Upcoming speakers include (more details forthcoming): 

March 26             Katherine Starkweather (University of Illinois, Chicago)

April 2                   Jonathan Dombrosky (UNM)

April 9                   Osbjorn Pearson (UNM)

April 16                Jada Benn Torres (Vanderbilt University)

April 23                Nicholas Emlen (University of Tübingen)

April 30                 Suzanne Gaskins (Northeastern Illinois)

May 7                    Zwedi Tsegai (Max Planck Institute)