Anthropology at UNM

The UNM Department of Anthropology is composed of three subfields: Archaeology, Sociocultural and Linguistic Anthropology, and Evolutionary Anthropology. 

Undergraduate majors receive a broad education.  Students choose a concentration offered by one subfield, and they have the opportunity to take courses from other subfields and concentrations.  They can earn either a Bachelor of Arts degree or a Bachelor of Science degree, depending on the courses that they take and their concentration.   Each concentration includes instruction in theory, research methods, data collection, and forming and testing of hypotheses.

The UNM Anthropology Department offers three minors: Anthropology, Forensic Anthropology, and Forensic Science.