Undergraduate Scholarships & Awards

A. Maxine Graves Undergraduate Award

This scholarship was established by Dr. Michael W. Graves, UNM Professor of Anthropology and former chair of the Department (2007-2014) and his sister, Kathryn Tedrick, to honor the memory of their mother, Maxine Graves and her support of his pursuit of an education. The scholarship annually supports undergraduate students majoring in Anthropology who are in the Honors Program with awards up to $500.

Barbara MacCaulley Endowment Scholarship

The scholarship was created in memoriam of Barbara MacCaulley by her family and provides two awards of up to $500 given to outstanding full-time undergraduate students concentrating in Archaeology and entering their senior year. This scholarship may be used to pay for travel and lodging at professional meetings or to conduct field research.

Alfonso Ortiz Undergraduate Fellowships for Indigenous Scholars

This fund was established in honor of Alfonso Ortiz, former Professor of Anthropology and recipient of the MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (the “Genius Award), to support Native American and Indigenous undergraduate students majoring in Anthropology.  This $500 award is given to a talented indigenous student who has declared their major in Anthropology. The award can be used to cover the costs of tuition or other student fees, field schools, field research (including travel), or presentations at professional meetings. Applicants must have at least sophomore status (30 credit hours) and must be a member of a Native American tribe. 

The John Martin "Jack" Campbell Award for Undergraduate Student Research

This fund was established by the Department in honor of John Martin "Jack" Campbell, former Chair of the Department of Anthropology (1964–1972) and Director of the Maxwell Museum of Anthropology (1974-1975). This $250 award supports participation in professional meetings or research projects by undergraduate anthropology majors at UNM.  The award can be used to defray the costs of travel and lodging at meetings or research projects.  Applications are due the Monday before Fall Break.

The Ann Ramenofsky Honors Fellowship Award

This fund was established in 2010 by Dr. Ann Ramenofsky, southwestern archaeologist and emerita professor, to recognize and support research activities of students in the undergraduate Honors Program within the UNM Anthropology Department. This fellowship is offered every fall in the amount of $500.00. The funds must support research projects and related activities. To apply, by mid semester of the honors seminar, please submit to the faculty member teaching the honors seminar (Anth 498): 1) an abstract outlining your research project, and 2) the intended use of funds.

The Frank C. Hibben Undergraduate Research and Training Summer Fellowship

Funded through the Frank C. Hibben Charitable Trust, these scholarships provide support to Native American, Alaskan Native, or Native Pacific Islander undergraduate students attending a field school with UNM anthropology faculty or other structured, supervised research experience with a UNM Anthropology faculty member. . Scholarships support of tuition, fees, and other related costs.  Variable awards granted based on nomination of student by a UNM Anthropology faculty member

For information on how to apply for one of these undergraduate awards/deadlines, please contact the anthropology department.